Best Paper Prizes

Each year ARCOM awards a number of sponsored prizes for best papers. This is an important recognition of the hard work the delegates have put into conducting much interesting research and developing the papers that publish those efforts. The awards all enjoy a £250 prize (or equivalent) together with the certificate that honours the award.

ARCOM has a number of commemorative awards we give annually on surveying/project management (Paul Townsend Commemorative Award), innovation (Rod Howes Commemorative Award) and social impact/significance (David Langford Commemorative Award). The past members of our community ARCOM commemorates each made a significant contribution to the field.

Paul Townsend was a strong supporter of ARCOM and an industry representative on the ARCOM committee for many years. He became an academic at Sheffield Hallam later in his career. The ARCOM award was instituted to celebrate his contribution following his untimely death.

Rob Howes is one of the founders of ARCOM and our first chairman, a charming and eloquent man, who was one of the key members in our community for many years.

David Langford, ARCOM’s Honorary Life President, sadly passed away in 2010. He led many of the ARCOM’s activities especially in the 1980s and 1990s.

The professional institutions (CIOB and RICS) and publishers associated with ARCOM (Wiley Blackwell, Taylor and Francis and Emerald) also award prizes at the conference. Themes for these prizes include the best international paper, innovation and sustainability, best technical paper, best theoretically informed contribution, and research methodology.

Click on the links below to view the prize winners for each year.

  • 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • Paul Townsend Commemorative Award For Research In Practice

    Richard Brett, Derek Thomson and Andrew Dainty – “Coping With Stone: A Short-Term Ethnography of Skilled Work in UK Housebuilding”

    Rod Howes Award For Conference Theme (Productivity, Performance & Quality)

    Chris Ivory – “Using A Relational Ontology in the Analysis of Project Tools”

    David Langford Commemorative Award For Social Impact

    Daniella Troje and Pernilla Gluch – “Social Procurement in the Real World: How Employment Requirements Unfold in Construction Projects”

    CIOB Best International Paper

    Ammar Azzouz and Abeer Abdelal – “Young Syrian Architects (YSA) At the Time of Crises”

    CIOB CRI Best Paper For Construction Transformation

    Yazan Osaily, Alex Copping, Stephen McCann and Tamil Uddin – “Exploring the Value of Demolition Contractor Involvement at the Design Stage of Construction”

    RICS, Best Paper On Sustainability

    Marc van den Berg, Hans Voordijk and Arjen Adriaanse – “Circularity Challenges and Solutions in Design Projects: An Action Research Approach”

    Taylor And Francis Best Theoretically Informed Paper

    Henning Grosse – “Lévinas' Ethics in Practice: A Construction Contractor’s Account”

    Emerald Best Research Methodology Paper

    Hiral Patel – “Are We Looking At the Same Thing? Multiple Methods to Frame 'Occupancy' of a Library Building”

  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012