Best Paper Prizes

Each year ARCOM awards a number of sponsored prizes for best papers. This is an important recognition of the hard work the delegates have put into conducting much interesting research and developing the papers that publish those efforts. The awards all enjoy a £250 prize (or equivalent) together with the certificate that honours the award.

ARCOM has a number of commemorative awards we give annually on surveying/project management (Paul Townsend Commemorative Award), innovation (Rod Howes Commemorative Award) and social impact/significance (David Langford Commemorative Award). The past members of our community ARCOM commemorates each made a significant contribution to the field.

Paul Townsend was a strong supporter of ARCOM and an industry representative on the ARCOM committee for many years. He became an academic at Sheffield Hallam later in his career. The ARCOM award was instituted to celebrate his contribution following his untimely death.

Rob Howes is one of the founders of ARCOM and our first chairman, a charming and eloquent man, who was one of the key members in our community for many years.

David Langford, ARCOM’s Honorary Life President, sadly passed away in 2010. He led many of the ARCOM’s activities especially in the 1980s and 1990s.

The professional institutions (CIOB and RICS) and publishers associated with ARCOM (Wiley Blackwell, Taylor and Francis and Emerald) also award prizes at the conference. Themes for these prizes include the best international paper, innovation and sustainability, best technical paper, best theoretically informed contribution, and research methodology.

Click on the links below to view the prize winners for each year.

  • 2022
  • 2021
    • Watch the award ceremony here!
    • Paul Townsend Commemorative Award for Research in Practice
      Anna af Hällström and Petra Bosch-Sijtsema – The Dark Side of Collaboration: The Risks of Strong Ties in Collaborative Project Networks
    • Rod Howes Commemorative Award
      Thao Thi Phuong Bui, Suzanne Wilkinson, Domingo Niluka and Casimir MacGregor – Thao Thi Phuong Bui, Suzanne Wilkinson, Domingo Niluka and Casimir MacGregor
    • David Langford Commemorative Award for Social Impact
      Jemma Bridgeman and Martin Loosemore – Designing Theoretically and Evidence-Based Social Procurement Programmes in Construction: A Capability Empowerment Approach
    • Best Paper on Construction Transformation
      Lynn Vosman, Tom Coenen, Leentje Volker and Klaasjan Visscher – Exploring the Innovation Ecosystem Concept for a Construction Industry in Transition
    • Best Paper on Sustainability
      Martine Buser, Stefan Gottlieb, Andreas de Gier and Rickard Andersson – From Concept to Practice: Implementation of Circular Building as a Process of Translation
    • The Emerald Prize for the Best Theoretical or Methodological Paper
      Anushika Ekanayake, Jin Xue, Geoffrey Qiping Shen and Mohan M Kumaraswamy – Dynamic Supply Chain Vulnerability Analysis of Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge Construction: A Topic Modelling Approach
    • David Langford Commemorative Award for Social Impact
      George Denny-Smith – How Compliance Imperatives Stifle the Impact of Social Procurement
    • Best Presentation Award
      Jessica Molén and Daniella Troje – How Motivation and Culture Affect O&M Knowledge Sharing in School Construction: A Case Study of a Swedish Public Organization
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012