Best Paper Prizes

Each year ARCOM awards a number of sponsored prizes for best papers. This is an important recognition of the hard work the delegates have put into conducting much interesting research and developing the papers that publish those efforts. The awards all enjoy a £250 prize (or equivalent) together with the certificate that honours the award.

ARCOM has a number of commemorative awards we give annually on surveying/project management (Paul Townsend Commemorative Award), innovation (Rod Howes Commemorative Award) and social impact/significance (David Langford Commemorative Award). The past members of our community ARCOM commemorates each made a significant contribution to the field.

Paul Townsend was a strong supporter of ARCOM and an industry representative on the ARCOM committee for many years. He became an academic at Sheffield Hallam later in his career. The ARCOM award was instituted to celebrate his contribution following his untimely death.

Rob Howes is one of the founders of ARCOM and our first chairman, a charming and eloquent man, who was one of the key members in our community for many years.

David Langford, ARCOM’s Honorary Life President, sadly passed away in 2010. He led many of the ARCOM’s activities especially in the 1980s and 1990s.

The professional institutions (CIOB and RICS) and publishers associated with ARCOM (Wiley Blackwell, Taylor and Francis and Emerald) also award prizes at the conference. Themes for these prizes include the best international paper, innovation and sustainability, best technical paper, best theoretically informed contribution, and research methodology.

Click on the links below to view the prize winners for each year.

  • 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • 2014
  • ‘Paul Townsend’ Commemorative Award for Best Paper in Project Management

    Pieter Eisma and Leentje Volker – “Exploring the field of public construction clients by a graphical network analysis”


    CIOB Award for the Best International Paper

    Natalie Galea, Martin Loosemore, Abigail Powel and Louise Chappell – “Gender equality in construction professions: a new institutionalists perspective”


    Taylor and Francis Award for Best Theoretically Informed Contribution

    John-Paul Smiley, Scott Fernie and Andrew Dainty – “Construction policy research: beware reason masquerading as truth”


    ‘Rod Howes’ Commemorative Award

    Martin Lowstedt – “Taking off my glasses in order to see: exploring practice on a building site using self-reflexive ethnography”


    Wiley-Blackwell Best Technical Paper

    Fred Sherratt – “We will force you to be well: positive liberty, power and the health and wellbeing of construction workers”


    RICS Sustainability Award

    Pippa Boyd, Graeme Larsen and Libby Schweber – “Perspectives on the Specification of Building Integrated Photovoltaic (Bipv) Technology in Construction Projects”


    CRI Innovation and Sustainability Award

    Anders Viking and Sofia Lidelöw – “Exploring industrialised house-builders' perceptions of local requirement setting – an institutional logics perspective”


    ‘David Langford’ Commemorative Award

    Melissa Teo and Martin Loosemore – “Getting to heart of community action against construction projects”


    Emerald Research Methodology Award

    Dennis O’Keeffe, Derek Thomson and Andrew Dainty – “Exploring the methodological consequences of the evaluation of the design of hospitals within a practice order network”


  • 2013
  • 2012