Best Paper Prizes

Each year ARCOM awards a number of sponsored prizes for best papers. This is an important recognition of the hard work the delegates have put into conducting much interesting research and developing the papers that publish those efforts. The awards all enjoy a £250 prize (or equivalent) together with the certificate that honours the award.

ARCOM has a number of commemorative awards we give annually on surveying/project management (Paul Townsend Commemorative Award), innovation (Rod Howes Commemorative Award) and social impact/significance (David Langford Commemorative Award). The past members of our community ARCOM commemorates each made a significant contribution to the field.

Paul Townsend was a strong supporter of ARCOM and an industry representative on the ARCOM committee for many years. He became an academic at Sheffield Hallam later in his career. The ARCOM award was instituted to celebrate his contribution following his untimely death.

Rob Howes is one of the founders of ARCOM and our first chairman, a charming and eloquent man, who was one of the key members in our community for many years.

David Langford, ARCOM’s Honorary Life President, sadly passed away in 2010. He led many of the ARCOM’s activities especially in the 1980s and 1990s.

The professional institutions (CIOB and RICS) and publishers associated with ARCOM (Wiley Blackwell, Taylor and Francis and Emerald) also award prizes at the conference. Themes for these prizes include the best international paper, innovation and sustainability, best technical paper, best theoretically informed contribution, and research methodology.

Click on the links below to view the prize winners for each year.

  • 2022
  • 2021
  • 2020
  • 2019
  • 2018
  • 2017
  • 2016
  • 2015
  • Henrik Linderoth Martine Buser Richard Kulczak

    The Wiley-Blackwell Best Technical Paper

    The Taylor and Francis Award for best theoretically informed contribution

    The RICS Sustainability Award

    Henrik Linderoth

    When big visions meet the pragmatic practice – Follow the institutional logic or personal benefits?

    Martine Buser and Veronica Carlsson

    Renewing renovation: Looking at renovation of owners occupied houses with socio-materiality lenses

    Richard Kulczak, Poorang Piroozfar and Marie Harder

    Managing sustainability through decision processes: The influence of values and frames

    Anders Viking Dominic Ahiaga-Dagbui Alistair Gibb

    The Emerald Research methodology Award

    The ‘David Langford’ Commemorative Award

    The CRI Innovation and Sustainability Award

    Anders Viking and Lars Stehn

    Exploring Swedish local planning authorities' perceptions of standardized housing construction

    Dominic Ahiaga-Dagbui, Simon D Smith, Peter ED Love and Fran Ackermann

    Spotlight on construction cost overrun research: Superficial, replicative and stagnated

    Wendy Jones, Alistair Gibb, Chris Goodier and Phil Bust

    Managing the unknown – The health risks of nanomaterials in the built environment

    Yunyan Andrea Jia Abigail Robson Marina Bos-de Vos

    The CIOB Award for the Best International Paper

    The ‘Rod Howes’ Commemorative Award

    The ‘Paul Townsend’ Commemorative Award

    Yunyan Andrea Jia, Steve Rowlinson, Mengnan Xu and Baizhan Li

    Institutional environment and institutional logics in construction safety management: The case of climatic heat stress on site

    Abigail Robson, David Boyd and Niraj Thurairajah

    Are contractors’ cost accounting practices up to the job of establishing improvement in site operations?

    Marina Bos-de Vos, Leentje Volker and Hans Wamelink

    Prioritizing quality over profit: Value tradeoffs within architect-client relations

  • 2014
  • 2013
  • 2012